Overdose of Emotion

Dear diary,

OVERDOSE

Emotions are swirling in my heart like lava in a volcano

I’m a volcano

I’ve hurt you over and over again

And we just choose to ignore like nothing happened

Ignorance is bliss

Ignorance is bliss

I hate it

You allow me to touch your heart and then you push me away

Until I hurt you again and again

Then we ignore

The cycle continues

No one wants to sit and talk and sort things out

We just ignore continually, drowning our emotions and fears beneath clouds of happiness

Going high and sinking low

Overdose of drugs that last only a few moments

Drugs of our own creation, tiny moments of happiness that make the hurt worse

Your heart beats for mine but ypu won’t say it

All cause you choose to ignore and get high again

JemimašŸ”±

EMOTIONS

It’s the pillow, it’s the bed

It’s a thousand thoughts inside my head

That pass through my mind when I close my eyes

And haunt my dreams all through the night

A prayer for peace, a prayer for love

A prayer for pain, a prayer for hurt

It’s not as if I can change the past

Or make these memories forever last

Because my prayer for peace is a prayer for pain

And I pray for hurt that only love can sustain

For to love is to hurt and to want beyond all need

And to be strong even when you feel weak

And if we hurt together, it won’t be so bad

At least we have a love that we know will last

I miss you and I don’t know if you feel the same

And I’m too scared to ask you for her name

The love may be dying but I don’t know

For now, though, I am hurting alone

JemimašŸ”±


Hey, guys. So I have two poems for you today. I couldn’t post just one because they are almost incomplete without each other. I really want to know what you think about it and your own interpretation so please drop a comment. Last week someone responded and she was so on point with her analysis. Shout out to Anu Situ!

I have a clue for y’all. The two poems represent two different stages in a relationship.

Hope you have a great day!

Leave a comment